Opinion pieces

1 - 10 of 110 results

Mosul, One Year On From ISIL - A Personal Reflection

Friday, July 20, 2018

Mosul's two million past and current residents still need our help. We owe it to children like Omar and Ahmed to not forget them.

Australia Takes a Lead Role in Fight to Eradicate Malaria

Tuesday, July 3, 2018

We've made great progress reducing the number of malaria cases. But recently we’ve taken our foot off the pedal. Still, a child dies from malaria every two minutes. This week’s Malaria World Congress could not come soon enough.

Broadening Market Participation Vital to Break the Poverty Cycle

Friday, June 29, 2018

When you you know small enterprises account for 60-70 per cent of total global employment and 50 per cent of Gross Domestic Product, it makes sense why small businesses and the markets they comprise affect everyone.

Celebrating Refugees' Resilience and Perserverence

Monday, June 25, 2018

"To see a World in a grain of sand, And a Heaven in a wild flower, Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand, And Eternity in an hour." – Auguries of Innocence

The Way Australia Cooks its Refugee Books is Just Not Cricket

Wednesday, June 20, 2018

We have little to be proud of in our treatment of refugees. We need to honestly shine a light on our country's shame.

China May Have Spurred Australia's Aid Spending, But it Will Pay Off

Monday, June 18, 2018

The Government's agreement to fund the undersea cable between Australia and the Solomon Islands demonstrates that the importance and effectiveness of development assistance generally is now dawning on more minds in Canberra.

Why Feeding the World’s Hungry is Actually About Trees

Tuesday, June 5, 2018

African farmers are successfully tackling the environmental dilemma that Western experts couldn’t – and the results can be seen from space.

Heartbroken for the Lost Children of Nauru

Friday, June 1, 2018

In 145 days, Australia will celebrate International Children's Day. My hope is that, by then, Australia's shame and the lost children of Nauru will be things of the past, and the children and their families will be resettled, safe and free.

Bishop Curry's Royal Message of Love Exposes our own Deep Flaws

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Rev Michael Curry’s sermon from the Windsor Chapel pulpit rang an exhilarating bell in the staid Royal congregation. Here was something living and breathing inside something that people felt needed life and breath. Love is the only way. Everyone matters. And that includes the poor and the downtrodden.

A Budget to Lift Election Prospects, But not to Help the World's Poor and Displaced

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

The Coalition Government’s fifth budget last week was carefully calibrated to offer just enough to a discontented electorate to restart the political contest ahead of the poll expected early next year. Yet again Australia’s battered aid program took a hit.